Tuesday, April 11, 2017

What I Read: March

It's that time of the month where I show up to this spot and share some books. As I was starting this post, I noticed that I have blogged a total of seven times this year, counting this post. woof. I had big plans to get back to some semblance of a schedule. There's always next week. Anyways, March was a pretty solid reading month and I'm excited to share some good books.

Loved It:


Totally engrossing read suitable for fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train. I don't even care that the plot was obvious because I was hooked. I'm sure most people would agree that the setting of this novel was more creepy than the story itself. I was reading it at night and kept getting that feeling that someone was watching through the windows. I love books that creep you out and a secluded house in the English countryside with a heavily psychotic woman does it.

-Audio-

I cannot tell you how much I loved this book. I fell in love with Ove from the beginning. He was the perfect curmudgeon-y old man who burrows his way into your heart. I enjoyed the way the book was written from a third person perspective.  Ove is this so well developed character who is trusting and good while being oblivious to all of the postive things about himself. I was sobbing by the end of the book and will now be reading all of Backman's books.


I didn't expect to like Big Little Lies as much as I did. I read The Hypnotist's Love Story a couple years ago and really disliked it but wanted to give Moriarty another try since the consensus seems to be that she writes good books. I was surprised by the ending and liked all three women. I read this shortly before the show came out but knew who was playing each person so I found myself envisioning them as I was reading. I felt Witherspoon and Kidman were cast perfectly, without even seeing the show. I'm not sure about Woodley, I'll have to watch the show to see how she plays Jane.

Liked It:


I'm slowly working my way through Moyes' novels. I didn't love love this one but liked it well enough. It reminded me a lot of The Nightingale, with the two sisters in a town and one makes a choice that the other doesn't agree with. It also kind of reminded me of the movie Woman in Gold because of the artwork restitution aspect. I liked the mix of WWII and art history. In a weird twist, I actually enjoyed the modern day half of the story better. 


Hearts of Men started off really slow but I did end up liking it. I doubt anything will be as good as Shotgun Lovesongs. I like books/movies set at summer camps and this was no different. I did find the ending with the tent scene odd, almost like Butler threw it in there to mix things up. I think the book would have been solid on its own without that scene. It just really didn't make sense with the context of the rest of the book. As always, Butler's writing is well done and I wish there was more of Nelson's story in there.

Leave It:


I seemed to be a bit of the minority on this one but I could not get into Twelve Tribes of Hattie. It dragged on forever and it wasn't even that long of a book. I tend to like Oprah's book picks but this one just didn't do it for me. The concept of 12 stories interwoven around Hattie with each one progressing through time was different but the story itself wasn't for me. I need more meat or something more solid to string me along to each story and it wasn't there.

Love It: A Man Called Ove & In a Dark, Dark Wood
Leave It: The Twelve Tribes of Hattie

Life According to Steph

 
BLOG TEMPLATE BY DESIGNER BLOGS